Play About Chicago Real Estate Wins Pulitzer

April 24, 2011

Chicagoland Real Estate Forum just reported positive news on the unemployment rate in Illinois.

Now, we would like to take an opportunity to congratulate some of the working folk who have received awards for doing their jobs well.

Let’s start with the glitz and glamor: There are several Pulitzer Prize winners within our midst.

Bruce Norris, 50, a playwright who attended Northwestern University and has produced six plays for Chicago’s Steppenwolf Theatre, has earned the 2011 Pulitzer Prize for Drama for his play, “Clybourne Park.”

The play actually deals with the relationship between race and real estate in Chicago.

It’s set on the North Side of Chicago in a bungalow that is sold between different races and the controversy that ensues.

“Clybourne Park” debuted last year in New York and will come to the Steppenwolf Theatre in September, where it will be directed by Amy Morton, another Chicagoan.

Next is Jennifer Egan, a Chicago native that won the 2011 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction for her novel, “A Visit From the Goon Squad.”

The story follows music mogul Bennie Salazar through his life and includes an entire chapter written as a PowerPoint presentation.

Another Pulitzer presented involved a very important former Illinois resident. The 2011 Pulitzer Price for History was awarded to Eric Foner for, “The Fiery Trial: Abraham Lincoln and American Slavery.” The book examines Lincoln’s changing views of slavery and brings a fresh take to this familiar story.

And, last but certainly not least, the 2011 Pulitzer Prize Winners for Local Reporting are reporters Frank Main and Mark Konkol and photographer John J. Kim of the Chicago Sun-Times for their series of stories on violence in Chicago neighborhoods and the devastating “no-snitch code” that prevails.

A fantastic award for an outstanding paper (and my old haunt) that has been facing extremely hard times.

Congratulations to all the local Pulitzer Prize winners!

A couple other awards to report:

Linda Hamer

*Realtor of the Year: Linda Hamer, broker-owner of Hamer Realty & Associates, Inc. in Peru was recently awarded the “Realtor of the Year” award by the Illinois Association of Realtors. She was nominated for the award by the Northern Illinois Commercial Association of Realtors (NICAR), which covers 13 counties in Northern Illinois. Hamer is the current the NICAR president.

*Supplier of the Year: Chicago real estate firm Jones Lang LaSalle, a company that seems to earn an award a week, has received the General Motors 2010 Supplier of the Year award for the fourth consecutive year. The firm got the award for its significant contributions to General Motor’s global product and performance achievements.

And, finally, the Illinois Technology Association has announced the finalists for the 2011 CityLIGHTS Awards that will be handed out at an event at Chicago’s Union Station on May 12.

The awards celebrate the growth and vitality of the local technology community.

Categories include:

*CityLIGHTS Award: Presented to the individual or business that consistently supports the growth of the Illinois technology industry.

*CEO of the Year Award: Goes to the CEO who has led his/her company to extraordinary business growth over the past year.

*Technologist of the Year Award: For the individual whose talent has championed true technology innovation.

*Newcomer Award: To the company with the strongest potential to become a leader in the industry.

*Rising Star Award: For the company that has grown to be a serious competitor.

*Lighthouse Award: This goes to the company that has taken a national role and who has brought national attention to the Illinois technology industry.

*New Concept Award: For the company or individual with the best new concept of the year.

*Best Strategic Use of Technology Award: For the non-tech organization that has transformed the norm in their industry.

*Comeback Entrepreneur of the Year Award: This one goes to an individual who has come back from a failed effort.

To see all the finalists and to vote, visit illinoistech.org. The final winners will be chosen through a composite score of 50 percent judges and 50 percent online community voting. You can vote through April 29.

Good luck to all those finalists, and congratulations to all these winners!

About The Author

Read All Stories By Tracey

Leave a Comment