Most Chicago-Area Communities Voted to Save Money

March 22, 2012

Looks like municipal aggregation is a go throughout most of northern Illinois.

Chicago Real Estate Forum wrote about municipal aggregation. Almost 300 Chicago-area communities included a referendum on the March 20 election ballot asking residents whether they wanted their local governments to negotiate electricity prices for them with ComEd competitors.

green checkmarkAt least 240 Chicago-area communities passed the measure including Aurora, Illinois’ second-largest municipality, and Rockford, the state’s third largest.

Illinois’ fourth-largest municipality, Joliet, was one of about 60 Chicago-area communities to reject the measure.

The state’s largest municipality, the city of Chicago, didn’t include a municipal-aggregation referendum on Tuesday’s ballot.

Even if you live in a town that passed the referendum, you don’t have to participate in the program and will be given the opportunity to opt out.

For those who live in Chicago or communities that rejected the idea, you can still independently seek out competitor bids for your electrical power. But the whole idea behind municipal aggregation is that the more customers for which a government is negotiating, the better price there is to be had.

In fact, a group of at least eight Chicago suburbs, including Highland Park, Northbrook, Skokie and Lake Forest, are working together to choose a supplier and secure a great rate for residents.

Whether or not you seek out your electrical supply from a ComEd competitor, you are still a ComEd customer. That’s because ComEd still delivers your power; the competitor companies merely supply it.

Some of the northern Illinois communities that approved municipal aggregation this week include Arlington Heights, Barrington, Bedford Park, Bridgeview, Brookfield, Buffalo Grove, Chicago Ridge, Countryside, Elgin, Evanston, Evergreen Park, Flossmoor, Forest Park, Franklin Park, Glencoe, Hanover Park, Harwood Heights, Morton Grove, Mount Prospect, Norridge, Oak Forest, Orland Hills, Orland Park, Palatine, Palos Heights, Palos Hills, Palos Park, Park Forest, Park Ridge, River Forest, River Grove, Riverside, Rolling Meadows, Schiller Park, South Holland, Thorton, Tinley Park, Westchester, Wheeling and Wilmette.

Some of the communities in which the referendum was rejected include Algonquin, Bartlett, Chicago Heights, Dolton, Elmwood Park, Hinckley, Lake in the Hills, Lockport, Lynwood, Matteson, Maywood, Midlothian, Minooka, Streator, Villa Park, Wadsworth and Waukegan.

Want to see how your community voted? Click your county and find out:

*Cook County

*DuPage County

*Kane County

*Lake County

*McHenry County

*Will County

About The Author

Read All Stories By Tracey

Leave a Comment